Posted by: Part-Time Audiophile | November 24, 2010

Thanksgiving time again

Well, the turkey is air-drying in the fridge and the loaves of home-made sourdough are sitting on the counter, waiting to be chopped up for stuffing. Broccoli will be pan-sauteed with a bit o’ garlic and some chicken stock. Saurkraut is all done. Cranberry sauce’ll be two ways — a can of the jellied stuff for the heathens and a fresh cranberry-orange version for those interested in something more adventurous.

This year, we’ve gotten some takers on sides, so my Mother-In-Law is bringing the mashed potatoes and green beans and my brother-in-law is bringing the yams and a pie. Sounds like a plan to me!

Can’t wait.

I think I’m gonna do the same thing as last year — big rub on the bird and basting with butter throughout. Worked like a charm last year, so why mess with success? I have some mushroom base that I might use instead of powderized dried mushrooms, but that’ll be the only serious deviation. The stuffing is going to be my special sourdough, chopped up with bacon, onions, celery and mushrooms, with some stock poured in. Mmmm.

Later today, I’m gonna be making an apple tart and a pumpkin pie. I’ll probably be unable to resist making a chocolate tart, too. I’m thinking: sucre crust, with layers of dark chocolate ganache and white chocolate mousse, served with raspberry sauce. That’ll be my dressy dessert. Oh, and I’m going to convert a pint of heavy cream into a whipped goodness, too. That should round out that end of the meal.

Served with your choice of Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc or Merlot!

Leave a Reply

Categories

