Posted by: Part-Time Audiophile | June 3, 2013

Time Moves On, aka, Part-Time-itis

Time marches … if not necessarily in a straight line, I think we can all agree it moves “on”.

This blog I’ve neglected pretty profoundly over the last few years, which is just pathetic. Some day, I may resurrect it, but that day isn’t today.

In the last few years, I’ve actually been attempting to eat healthier. Sure, I still cook. Occasionally. My wife does most of the cooking, though, as she’s far pickier than I and if I can be honest for a moment, she’s simply better at it than I am. She’s just bolder and more daring. And she’s mostly vegan. Eek!

Wasn’t what I’d been targeting or even thinking about when I started cooking, much less, learning French Cookery at L’Academie de Cuisine in Maryland. Great school, but not a whole lot of focus on making healthy eats, if you know what I mean. Anyway, since we made the switch to “plant strong”, which for me usually amounts to vegan four-to-five nights a week, I’ve lost 40+ lbs. And no, that’s not “with exercise”. That’s just from changing our diet. And only for the weekdays. Interesting, no?

I take over the kitchen on Fridays for home-made pizza night. My dough recipe is a single-day version of a whole-wheat crust I found in Cooks, minus the honey. I don’t make my own sauce, nor do I make my own cheese, but whatever. Pizza and a movie — and the kids love it.

Sundays, I make pasta. And yes, I mean “make pasta” — with my trusty KitchenAid mixer, 3 eggs and 2 cups of whole wheat flour (which I double), I get some spanking noodles that I’ve been spoiling my family with for the last 3 years or more. The kids are nuts about them! Sadly, the whole thing has utterly ruined me and my patience with restaurants that don’t make their own pasta.

Which brings me to my latest online obsession: high-end audio. For the last few years, I’ve been dabbling with writing audio reviews and providing media coverage of the audio events in the U.S.A. It’s been a hoot. I started offering banner space there last year, and as of January 2013, The Absolute Sound signed me on as a contributor. High-fidelity is treating me well, you might say. Not well enough to do much more than dabble, but hey, everyone needs a hobby.

So, thanks for stopping by! And feel free to check me out at Part-Time Audiophile whenever you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

